Exciting day

Checked pupae this morning but none had gone transparent, as I was expecting, but checking the yellow eggs I found them changing…

IMG_4699

Back in the house getting ready for school I glanced out of the window and saw a butterfly on the hops. I gasped and ran for my camera while Andrew, who knows his mother, unlocked the back door and opened it. I managed to get one photo before the comma butterfly flew away.

FromPupaA1

After school I did a proper inspection and found the first pupa had split:

IMG_4722

The butterfly had been just under where the pupa had been.

Also the first of the eggs had hatched and they weren’t caterpillars – they were ladybird larvae. The egg cases were now white and the larvae were eating them.

IMG_4709

It remains to be seen whether they are 7 spots or harlequins.

~ by janerc on June 22, 2009.

Leave a comment