Oops!

I do know not to disturb dense undergrowth at this time of year, but for some reason I thought it would be a good idea to clear a sunny border today, ready for planting. I cut brambles, and pulled out tangled branches for an hour before I noticed a nest. When I tipped it I was appalled to find it contained 4 eggs!

Needless to say I stopped work and left for a while. A few hours later a blackbird was sitting on the nest. I hope I haven’t made it too unstable or too vulnerable…

~ by janerc on April 11, 2010.

One Response to “Oops!”

  1. […] and I had to curtail my clearing  efforts earlier in the year when I found a nesting blackbird. I am confident that I will disturb no more nesting birds in November. I have been clearing shrubs […]

Leave a Reply

 
